Doves and serpents

Well, the Spirit moved at Pentecost among us.  We re-launched our ‘Casting the Net’ mission review initiative, and I realised as I was preaching that it might, actually, involve changes that I cannot envisage and have not initiated myself.  As a bit of a control freak, that disturbed me, though I should have known better.  And then in the evening, the reflective worship led by the Music Group touched me much deeper and in a different way – the fire resting in our hands and in a commissioning way.

And as usual, I’m tempted to contain the fire and systematise it.  The shape of the serpent is something I jotted down from an article about business and how to define a brand – FAME:

F-lag:  What do we stand for?  What ‘territory’ do we claim as our own?

A-ffinity:  What are the ideas and emotions that uniquely bind us together?

M-ethods:  What unique systems do we have?  How do things ‘work’?

E-xperience:  How does what we say square with what happens in real life?

It’s the sort of thing you could use to define a Church’s identity – its ‘brand’ – and even a congregation’s.  In Church-speak, you might call it defining its unique vocation.  Except it doesn’t really work like that – well, not all the time.  The Church is not a business, but can it make use of business tools?

As usual, I’m torn.  I want to set the Dove free and see it fly, and I also want to make sure the wind is in the right direction, and the feathers are preened, and the hunter is chained up.

This entry was posted in Church, Holy Spirit, leadership, mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

